Random Tangents

If people tell you to run a tournament, decline. It’s a hell lot of work, especially when other people repeatedly make mistakes. Oh, and the players too. They can’t read. At all.

Neither can their freaking parents.

Which was okay (or rather, I didn’t know much about it) until I actually took over part of handling them. PR sucks.

Anyway, after spending 2-3 hours fixing up a spreadsheet for the next round as quickly as I could, since the original wrong spreadsheet was already posted for some reason, I went on KGS. What started as a discussion about a teaching game my friend was giving quickly turned into otaku talk.

I don’t really remember how it happened, but we somehow went from tesujis and weak shape to Lucky Star, Black Rock Shooter, Haruhi, and Kaiba shachou. Yeah. Some guy came in…and quickly left.

Isn’t it great how Go can help you make friends?

Random Japanese Word of the Day:
手筋(tesuji) – A skillful or clever play in Go. I guess you can use it out of context too, but I don’t know if many people will understand.

Leave a Reply

